ALS Center News

Healey Center International Prize for Innovation in ALS Award

View Content

The award goes to Timothy Miller, MD, PhD, of Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Don Cleveland, PhD, of the Ludwig Institute at the University of California at San Diego, Richard Smith, MD, of the Center of Neurological Study in La Jolla, California, Toby Ferguson, MD, PhD, for Biogen and Frank Bennett, PhD, for Ionis Pharmaceuticals. The team members received their award during the 30th International Symposium on ALS/MND in Perth, Australia on December 6, 2019 for their discovery and development of antisense oligonucleotide (ASO) technology as a treatments approach for SOD1 mediated ALS.